So, many of you who are also friends with me on the FB know that Ryan and I just celebrated our 5th anniversary as a married couple and we have found that each year keeps getting better. I recognize the incredible amount of luck that came together to make that happen. But I also recognize the incredible amount of work we both contribute to continue to make it true.

To many, the idea of “work” is almost a dirty word. To many, there is the idea that a relationship is built out of musical numbers, one overcome obstacle, and perfectly worded dialogue. Work is not a dirty word, it is an affirmation of commitment. Lest I paint to rosy a picture, we are no Disney household 24/7 whistling like happy little dwarves as we slug through some less pleasant chores. But the end goal is way more rewarding than a pushing off some skivvy.

Shockingly we watch a movie that had a moment that resonated with us very well. So for those that are not on the FB, I’ll quote it again here:

“Kenneth: To go it alone, or to go with a partner. When you choose a partner you have to have compromises and sacrifices, but it’s the price you pay. Do I want to follow my every whim and desire as I make my way through time and space? Absolutely. But at the end of the day, do I need someone when I’m doubting myself and I’m insecure, and *my* heart’s failing me? Do I need someone who, when the heat gets hot, has my back.

Darius: So, do you?

Kenneth: I do.”

I’m thankful for the opportunity I have to share this adventure with ole-RA. In appreciation of that we are heading up to the triathlon course this weekend to see what “dem’thar hills” actually ride like. Maybe swim a bit in the lake and run around. RA wants to verify that the hotel we have booked for the race weekend isn’t a complete dive. (My planner…so detailed oreinted.) Hopefully I’ll grab some pictures for you.

