I currently have nothing hanging over my head or sitting on my plate at the moment and I don’t know what to think about that. (Yes, my hands are in my ears and I’m shouting nah-nah-nah-nah-I-can’t-hear-you.  What sweater do I need to finish?  What, Christmas is around the corner and I still have 2 stockings to make? What, this house has a million other little things I really should get around to? What 40 mile hike do I need to be training for?)  That’s right, the applications are in the mail and out of my hands.  Now the waiting game begins.

In case you weren’t aware, I’ve spent the better portion of the last year preparing to apply to graduate programs…specifically CRNA programs.  CRNAs are nurse anesthetists and if I get into a program it means another 2.5 years of school.  Slightly frightening.  They are also terribly competitive to get into.

But there is some humor in the whole drawn out process!  Not only did I take a series of chemistry courses…on line…with a virtual lab… but I earned a couple of certifications and took…dum, dum, dum, dum…the dreaded GRE.  The format of the whole test changed quite dramatically on August 1st which is why, in part I took it in July.  I wanted to pound that pesky checkbox out before it went all rogue.  I’m glad I did.  Not only because the test is supposed to be “so much harder” but I’m thinking a lot of arcane vocabulary I shoved into my brain can be applicable to everyday life and J. K. Rowlings proved this to me.

Prime example, the word ‘probity’.  Just sounding it out you’d probably associate it with an inquisition, a probe, ‘feeling something out’ but in actuality it is a noun that means something more along the lines of “adherence to the highest moral standards” or “uprightness”.  Apparently, according to the internet, it is derived from Latin for “honest”.  I remember it from JKR’s 7th novel, “the probity probe”, or a secrecy sensor. Which really made that word stick in my mind.

Lo-and-behold the word probity made a grand appearance on my exam AND as the correct answer to select.  (At least I think it was the correct answer…it was the only one that made sense.)

So hey, yeah!  Rock that out!  This little tirade goes to show a couple of points, 1. YA literature can be “smart” reading 2. a good vocab makes texts so much richer, 3. never let a good word or opportunity for alliteration die and 4.  I may have been able to avoid most of this if I had just studied Latin in high school like my brother did instead of Spanish.

I leave for SLC in 8 days!  Yikes, better make sure I have all the stuff I need. Which is what I’ll be doing with the rest of my Saturday.  Enjoy yours!

