Sorry for yet another obscure title but I think I may be hallucinating.

Castro has “retired” and his brother has stepped up to take over. I feel like I’m sitting on the edge of my chair waiting to see how this plays out.

Langston Hughes comes to mind:

What happens to a dream deferred? Does it dry up
like a raisin in the sun?
Or fester like a sore–
And then run?
Does it stink like rotten meat?
Or crust and sugar over–
like a syrupy sweet? Maybe it just sags
like a heavy load. Or does it explode?

I’m not implying that I was either for or against Castro. As it occurs with many political leaders he has positives and negatives under his belt and only history will paint a fuller picture. There is something to be said for a country that has a higher literacy rate and healthier population than our own country.

But what is going to happen next? Is this as monumental for Cuba as it is in the minds of the US-Cubans?

Tourism has been growing in Cuba since the fall of the Soviets and an increase in the inequality once again began. Will this mark a better future for Cuba or a reversal to the era of Guys and Dolls under which conditions the revolution sprang?
Castro couldn’t live forever but jeez, what’s going to happen next?

