Sometimes do you ever wake up confused as to where you are, what day it is or what you are doing? The ‘what day it is’ confusion was a regular occurrence on the road and a point of pride at times. But now, it is with nostalgia that I wake up and forget where I am or what I’m supposed to be doing. Typically this isn’t a problem during the week when there are a thousand things that have to be done THAT DAY, but I’ve found that on the weekends I’m waking up and there are a few brief, fabulous moments when I think we are still on the road. Not that I don’t appreciate where we are or where we are going but let’s face it, if you had a choice between being where you want to be and doing what you want to do with having others direct where you need to be and what you are doing, which would you chose?

I know, I know, some of you are going to argue with me about choice and direction and control. We’ve made the choice to be employed (or furturistically employable) but our recent discussions also focus on where to go next. What trip to take and what to see. Maybe my motivation is escapism from worry about the next exam or finals (as the current case may be). Who was it that said, “Life is what happens when you are busy making other plans.”? In case that is what you were thinking, don’t worry, we are living the moment as well but it is more fun to talk about some other things. Eyes are rolled often enough in this house or at our friends, the G’s, when Mrs. G and I get to talking about nursing.

What reality is this? I need a pep talk! My mantra “this time next year I’ll be employed” is a good one but maybe it needs to be followed with “and I’ll be knitting and sewing and going to coffee shops with friends and climbing and not worrying about paying the bills, carrying my weight around here,” AND hopefully spending the occasional mornings waking up to a grey carpet ceiling.

….is anyone still reading this stuff? I haven’t posted in 4 months. That’s pretty sad.

In case anyone is looking for an update on Ryan. He’s employed. A blessing and a curse. I mean, they actually expect him to go to work 5 days a week and for 8 hours a day. Craziness! Insanity! At least the commute is kind and his coworkers friendly. There is even a woman from India whom Ryan is trying to befriend to learn cooking secrets from. Yummmm. Go Ryan! Go!

Cheers to y’all. Hope you are enjoying your reality too.

